redeemed!…time for a new blog name

About three months ago, I sent out on an adventure in an attempt to ‘live out’ Isaiah 58. To see if the promises of God hold true when lived out in the nitty gritty of real life.

2011 had been one of, if not, the worst year of my life. Even now, there is little that is good that I could suggest came out of most of the year.   Through my summer with Urban Neighbours of Hope (UNOH), The Sold Project & Urban Light, I’ve discovered in such a profound way, that when you take your eyes off yourself and serve the needs of those who truly know what suffering and hardship is about, it is there that life and hope and freedom and love is to be found.  The words of God to his people hold true:

‘and if you spend yourselves in behalf of the hungry and satisfy the needs of the oppressed,  

then your light will break forth like the dawn, and your healing will quickly appear;

The Lord will guide you always;

he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame.

You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.’

God has been very gracious to me through the last few months.  He has helped me to be caught up afresh in His grand adventures.  He has reminded me of just how BIG his heart is for all!  He has shown me that in the midst of great personal loss and suffering, He is to be found.  My life circumstances haven’t changed dramatically, but my perspective is completely different.

I am so thankful for all who have been a part of this journey with me.  My brother-in-law asked me the other day whether I feel like Thailand was a bookend to the chapter of life that has just ended.  I think the answer is yes.  2011 has been redeemed – something useful, valuable, beautiful has come out of the last weeks of it.  And yet, while I simply set out to redeem a year that was lost, I suspect that God had and has something much more stunning in mind.

On Sunday night, I had opportunity to share what God has done through my summer adventure in Thailand.  To listen in visit: www.werribeebaptist.org.au/podcast   It was such a privilege to watch as God began stirring the hearts of people in this service to catch His heart for justice.  Several people came and shared after the service some creative ways in which they might become part of the solution.

Since returning to Australia, I have had several great long-term opportunities for work and ministry open up to me.  If you’re reading this and are a pray-er, I would value your prayer as I seek to know where God would have me serve in the coming season.  Watch this space for more as it continues to unfold and thanks for being on the journey with me.

p.s suggestions for a new blog name are welcome!  🙂


7 responses to “redeemed!…time for a new blog name

  • Heath Eldridge

    Sounds good man! Been great reading your stories, very encouraging! Bless ya.

  • Andie

    Hi Adrian, you don’t know me but you met my husband David a couple of times whilst in Thailand. We work at the ZOE Children’s Homes. Glad I found your blog. I love hearing about what others are doing. I hope you’ve settled back in to life in Aus now, I’m sure it’s had it’s challenges. Dave received your parcel too and has been working through the studies- I’m sure he’ll be in touch. God bless you as you go about raising funds for this worthy cause. Hopefully I’ll get to meet you next time when you’re back. Andrea Cross

    • planetrowse

      Hi Andrea,
      Thanks heaps for your message! It was great to spend some time with David while I was in Thailand. Definitely share the same heartbeat as you guys and love what you are about as a family. Not sure I’d say I’ve settled in back here in Australia yet – there are some exciting possibilities on the horizon that I am weighing up and trying to discern at the moment that may see me back in Thailand sometime soon and which may throw a spanner in the works of my fundraising plans too! Glad Dave got the parcel – I hope the resource is useful in the future with some of the lads at Zoe. Definitely look forward to connecting with you guys further – hopefully soon! 🙂

  • Andie

    Great! Let us know when you’re back.
    And I’m sure Dave will be in touch soon.
    Andie.

Leave a comment