ENOUGH!

Tonight I went out to the bars where the UL boys work each night.

Each of the boys I’ve met were excited to see me there. They were all there but one.

I’ve been putting off going, just like I’ve been putting off trying to put words together that do justice to the mishmash of emotions and tensions within me as I consider the reality of what these boys do when they leave the centre each night.

I’m beginning to dislike the fading light of day which means closing time at the centre and the boys departure.

I’ve failed miserably at putting these thoughts together for the last week or so.

I wish I could understand how our world through it’s inaction, says that this is ok.

I wish I could comprehend how these Western men believe they are entitled to use these brave yet fragile young men in an attempt to satisfy their needs and desires, simply because they have the means to purchase whatever they so choose.

I wish I could communicate to these boys how truly precious, beautiful, courageous and full of potential they are.

I can’t really do any of these things.

I am doing alot of praying and crying out to the Father… asking Him to fulfil his promises to protect the exploited, to defend the defenseless and to reveal His love.

It doesn’t feel like enough, but that and turning up each day at the UL centre to serve in any way I can is all I’ve got right now.

Trying to trust that God is at work in spite of all I see that makes me want to scream ‘ENOUGH!’.


Leave a comment